A Spring Fling with Kenneth Cole


Being a fashion designer, I find myself spending late nights with my ipad wondering through the details of fashion shows from Milan to New York and everything in between. In this never ending stroll down fashion lane, I always seem to find myself noting sweet little details of resort style. Resort wear is appealing to me perhaps because I have always lived in a resort town and most likely because I have a deep affection for comfort. There is something so free about lounging around in clothing made in airy soft fabrics that move with the body. If you don’t agree, by all means speak up but I think there aren’t to many men or woman around who wouldn’t appreciate a comfortable lifestyle. Xoxo, Jax :: Fashion Designer www.JackiesBoutique.com

20121030-001111.jpg

Kenneth Cole had a nice casually chic show for Spring 2013. Above are my favorite pieces from the collection. I have been designing a lot of skirts lately and I love the look of this oversized skirt, relaxed semi-sheer tops, and crisp white pieces that you could pair with anything.

20121030-002223.jpg
Black and white is always a smart way to break up the heaviness of all black. This color combo is always sharp. I like the details of these pieces. Note the sheer blouse under an embellished vest, black piped coat and sobi belt.

20121030-002630.jpg
Golden hues and shades of pewter mix well with black for evening. Very city chic.

20121030-002839.jpg
Stripes are always sharp and crisp for menswear. I like the relaxed style and the comfortable fabrics are a must. These looks are terrific for travel or school. Switch the shorts for dress pants and the look will easily move from day into night. Look out!

20121030-003106.jpg
I love the mix of neutral hues. Even though I’m a big fan of monochromatic dressing, I think men should mix it up and always play with texture. These looks are young and fun. I really like the white pants mixed with shades of grey and warm neutrals.

20121030-003353.jpg
Although separately I like these pieces, I wanted to show you my least favorite looks and tell you why. Picture 1:: I loved these pants when they were mixed with lighter shades in less structured looks. This top is way to heavy and boxy making the model look short legged and sloppy. Picture 2:: The black collar trend just doesn’t work here. The outfit looks way off with the touch of black, throwing off the elegance of an otherwise layer back combination. Picture 3:: instead of looking fresh, this outfit looks dated. The heavy oversized shoulder pads and length of this jacket over powers the model and paired with the sheer pants looks more like Xanadu than a “Do”.

Love to hear you views on the pieces from Coles collection. There’s a fine line between hot new trend and horrible flashback don’t you agree?

