Fashion FYI: Hey Midi, There’s a New Skirt in Town


Cream on Cream New Video_face1So many lengths and only 365 days to wear them. Although I am a huge fan of the mini skirt for it’s slimming effect on my figure, I have to pay homage to the new skirt in town and let you in on some great ways to rock the “Midi-skirt” look that’s all over the runways for Fall. Not seen since the old hollywood days of Hitchcock and Hepburn, the midi length skirt is making a huge comeback. Many of you have stated that you just can’t imagine wearing the length as often as you would the mini or the long maxi but I’m telling you, YES YOU CAN.. The midi skirt length to me is great to wear in a pencil thin silhouette because it works with my shape. I’m really curvy and to much volume tends to add pounds. If your super thin, you can certainly wear a style with more volume but I would still keep the top simple and belt the waist.  Which ever shape you are, here are some amazing ways to rock the Midi length skirt..
Camile_Pink_lace_top_midi_skirt2Stretch lace is definitely my fabric of choice when looking at a slimming midi length skirt because the texture hides the flaws and the thickness of the lining and fabric weight make you feel like your held in and supported. Laces come in the most feminine patterns and when kept monochromatic can be classically gorgeous with just the perfect touch of glamor. Just keep the fabric matte for an easy to wear day or night pairing.  I kicked my look up a notch with these leopard shoes and Prada bag. I also have a matching sweater not shown for when the evening gets cold. This look is from my own collection at BlondiBeachwear.com and it’s one of my favorite outfits. The pieces can be worked into pairing all year long and mixed with my leather jackets or pastel colored coats. In fact, I have a post coming up on the new candy colored coats that Pre-fall has for us. So be sure to subscribe to my blog so you won’t miss it. 

Get my look:
Pink Camille Lace Top ($148) & Skirt ($168) (BlondiBeachwear.com Here)
I also recommend you look at the new Powder Blue midi skirt I just designed (here)
Prada Leopard Bag Vintage (check new styles here)
Leopard Shoes Vintage (check new styles here)

20130809-095124.jpgby Wendy W., blogger from London

Don’t you just love black and white? You may at first think that the fuller skirt will just make you look huge but it’s all in what you wear it with. I have to be careful because I’m curvy so as I mentioned above, I choose slimmer styles. However, if you keep the top light and simple then belt the skirt at your waist, it will work. This look will give a thinner frame more curves. I also love a simple black fitted tee with this style and strappy heels for evening glamor or ballet flats for casual days. Thanks for reading my post today. While your here leave me a comment and take a look around. Xo, JAX

Which shape do you prefer?

Get the look:
Black Guess Elsey cami (here)6033 Nylon Stretch Belt 1-5/8 Wide (here)
Organic fitted tee $29 (here)
Eshakti Full pleated Midi Skirt $63 (here)
Steve Madden Realove Sandle $60 (here)

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:

Camouflage clothing fashionCamille Charriere20130630-100223.jpg

2 thoughts on “Fashion FYI: Hey Midi, There’s a New Skirt in Town

Comments are closed.