{Fashion FYI} A Look at the Tribal Trend for Spring 2014


20140112-011231.jpgTribal looks walked the runways for Spring 2014 as one of the most notable trends. One of my favorite elements of the trend was the visual energy from the bold colors and patterns. As with any runways show,  some of the looks need editing for wear-ability but I could definitely see myself wearing at least one piece from each designers look I’ve pulled for you below. Take a tour with me thru the best of the tribal trend for Spring 2014. – JAX

{I’m wearing: True Religion Abbey High Rise Skinny Jean }

20140110-003319.jpg
From Sarah Burton’s warrior-worthy wares at Alexander McQueen to Riccardo Tisci’s ethnic mash-up for Givenchy to the pagan princesses on the Valentino runway, designers were thinking globally this season, each one marching to the beat of his or her own drum. Although I couldn’t wear this dress, I could definitely see myself wearing a top or skirt in this fabric. The color combination is fresh and energetic. Take a look at these shoes. every season McQueen has a trend that travels thru the fashion world and these shoes are my pick. I have already picked them up in nude and they are my favorite finds of the pre-season.
20140110-003726.jpg
A step above the rest, full on head to toe print never looked so classic as in this interpretation from Valentino. This look is amazing. From the dress to the amazing jacket, these pieces could be easily worn together or separated and paired with bold pops of color like a pink jacket or turquoise pants. Valentino has definitely taken a trendy item and made it something that won’t be obsolete quickly.

20140110-003420.jpg
Once of my favorite looks, the wistfully sheer quality of this skirt under a fitted tunic is bound to be a sight we will be seeing this year as the look is extremely wearable for both the tweens and woman’s street wear style.

20140110-003953.jpg
There is something aggressive about this look for Spring yet it’s modern draping works a soft fabric into a new shape for the season. Could this mean that we will be seeing more draped shapes once the snow thaws? I’m thinking that would be a yes. Although I don’t like this dress, I do like the draping and love to wear draped tops with simple fitted pants. My rule on draping is to make sure it’s fitted properly. Loose layers will only add pounds but rushing and draping that fits properly in the right places certainly looks fabulous.

20140110-004252.jpg
Freshly fringed ponchos paired with short shorts could be the next fun yachting trend as northerners fly south after the winter. I would love this in all white crochet and casual flats or sneakers cruising down the waterway with my Sunnies and a ponytail.

20140110-004634.jpg
Leave it to Donna to come up with an ultra-feminine halter dress in floaty fabric to get us craving warmer weather places. I’m not crazy about the color but a swatch of lilac, blue or yellow would have really excited me.

20140110-004901.jpg
Relaxing resort pants paired with skin revealing tops seems to be on the replay for this year. Just as crop tops had us running to the gym last year, it’s going to be a challenge to pull off the knotted, twisted keyhole skin baring cut outs. Perhaps a nude colored body suit should be your first purchase for Spring if you are in love with the look.

20140110-005226.jpg
I’m transported to memories of a young Grace Kelly on Safari with this look. The sunsets in Africa with gorgeous oranges and yellow dripping onto the sandy hilled landscapes. The designer really captured the essence of the trend. I’m actually smelling safari now.

20140110-005539.jpg
Romantic with a wild and spontaneous nature is also what this trend leaves me felling. The edgy hemlines of carelessness and textures like glistening sequins much like the evening waters under a moonlike sky, this trend has motion, energy, color and spontaneity. It’s plays with a youthful spirit and has no rules by nature.

Thanks for reading, leave me a comment.. Do you love or hate this trend?
And please share my post with your friends.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:
Jax Couture Style AdviseJax Couture Style Lab20140112-011339.jpg

